Sorry

So, it’s been a little while since I’ve written a blog.  Actually it’s been a lot of little whiles all in a row.  Sorry about that.  I’ve never been very good at this type of thing.  I tried keeping journals when I was younger… which is why now, every once in a while when I’m going through old notebooks, I’ll find a couple pages of idle musings followed by fifty seven blank pages.

I always start with such good intentions.  ‘I’m going to write something every single day,’ or some such nonsense.  Then I hit a roadblock of some kind, lose a day or two, after which I feel guilty and skip it because I don’t want to think about how I let myself get distracted…. again.  Two years later I find the evidence of my latest attempt, wince, and quickly start doing something else.

It’s what happens when I try to get on twitter, start a blog, write a penpal, go to the gym.

What can I say, sometimes it’s a wonder that I still get out of bed in the morning.

Anyhow… I guess I should share what’s been going on with me lately:  So, I got dropped from my publisher, Winlock.  It wasn’t as bad of an experience as you might think.  Basically the publishing company that owns Winlock told them to drop people who hadn’t had a lot of book sales, and I was one of those people.  The reason I hadn’t had book sales… or more accurately, the reason I hadn’t promoted my book more vigorously, is that I was waiting for the book to come out in print.  I’ve got plenty of people who will buy a copy of my book as soon as they can, unfortunately most of them don’t own kindles or nooks or whatever.

The cool thing was that the woman who runs Winlock went out of her way to help me get Awfully Appetizing into print, even though it now isn’t her property.  She’s been really awesome about the whole deal and I’m very happy to have worked with her, even briefly. So, thank you Mo.

Anyhow, I’ve got a couple of minor details that I need to take care of, after which I should be able to get Awfully Appetizing set up as a print on demand book, which is what I’ve wanted for a while now.  Believe me, I’ll let you know as soon as I know, and I’ll be trying to figure out new and exciting ways to promote it, too.

2 thoughts on “Sorry”

  1. Wow, I’m sorry that happened to you. Honestly, you probably got the better end of that deal – a good publisher doesn’t just edit and sell your book, they market it too. Your job is to write. What are you paying them royalties for when you can easily self publish (in print on createspace and ebook on all channels for free) and promote it yourself? Obviously their ‘exposure’ doesn’t do anything. I thought the first one was awesome and I will definitely read the next one. So let me know when it’s out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your support, Anna. I have mixed feelings about the whole thing. I really enjoyed working with Mo Happy, and I’m glad to say that I remain in contact with her, but I am bewildered by Permuted Press’s decisions. And, truth be told, I find the role of publishing companies quite confusing. Anyway, I’m going to be putting book one out very soon, and the plan is to get book two (which is already complete) out in a couple of months. I just have to handle some logistics associated with all of that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

