Three steps forward, two steps back

So my publisher is dropping me.

I get it.  I do.  My book hasn’t exactly been flying off the shelves since it came out.  I don’t know exactly how many copies have been bought, but I know my numbers are low.

And it wasn’t even my publisher’s choice.  Winlock is an imprint of Permuted Press, so when a decision comes down the pipeline… well, you don’t exactly get to say ‘no thank you’ to the people who own your company.

I am a little bit frustrated because they’re making this decision before putting my book out in print, even though I have explicitly stated that most of the promoting that I’ve got planned requires physical copies of my book.

Even so, I get it.  If a book isn’t making money, it isn’t making money.

The question now is whether I should continue focusing on the ghoul books, and either look for a new publisher to put them out or self publish… or should I turn my attention to a new project?  I’ve got a couple of ideas.  There’s a dystopian space opera I’ve been toying with for a while now, and I’ve got an idea for a multiverse saga that I think could be a fun read.  I’ve been toying with a Y.A. story-line for a while now, I could go that route… or I could go back to the very adult oriented superhero chronicles I was working on a few years ago.  And there are always the artificial intelligence stories.

But a big part of me feels like I should finish what I started.  The truth is, I’m quite proud of the Corpse-Eater Saga.  I’ve got some nifty ideas in there that I wouldn’t mind playing with some more.

I don’t know.  I guess I don’t have to know.  If they’re ending my contract, I guess I don’t owe it to anybody to decide just yet.

Leave a Reply

