Search, Re-Search, and Research some more

So there’s nothing like a new story idea to help you realized just how little you really know.

After reading ‘The Aeronaut’s Windlass,’ the latest book from Jim Butcher, I find my imaginations wandering seaward.  I kind of want to write a couple of scenes that take place on a boat, but by god to I not know a damned thing about boats!  I mean, nothing!

On the upside, thanks to the advent of the internet, all of the information I could possibly need is available to me, if I’m willing to do a little bit of digging, but the truth is, I don’t even know exactly which questions I should be asking.

I think that’s why so many writers try to build up a collection of people they can call and ask questions too.  People can tell you the things that you  won’t find in a book, or on a webpage, and they can catch you if they find you asking the wrong question.

Still, I look forward to the day when I can flip a switch and bring up diagrams and a list of terms to appear on each of my walls while I work.  Endless streams of knowledge….

Oh well, I’d better get back to my scene.  It’s absurd, I’m sure, and anybody who has spent more than a day at sea will probably pronounce it drivel, but hey, you gotta start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

