Playing Catch-up on NanoWrimo

So, I’m already behind for NaNoWriMo.  It’s not a surprise.  I didn’t have a project that I was itching to dig into when the whole thing started, and now I’m setting aside some of the things that I’d actually prefer to be working on in order to keep pushing on the Nano project.  it isn’t something I’d normally do, but for me Nanowrimo is about discipline, and so I’m focusing on keeping committed to this one project.  Even though I don’t know where it’s going or how it’s going to get there.

Anyway, I’m already behind on it.  A few days behind.  Which isn’t terrible, but it is a little bit frustrating.  Mostly because I don’t have a good excuse.  I’ve got plenty of time right now.  I should be tearing through any project, even one I’m not overly excited about, but I’m allowing myself to get distracted.  I’m allowing myself to concentrate on silly things.

Just before this all started a friend asked me if I was doing nano this year.  I told her I was.  She said she wasn’t sure if she was going to do it.  She didn’t have anything she was excited to work on.  I told her, give it a shot anyway.  Really, what’s the worst that can happen?  Say you pick a project, write a chapter, then find yourself completely stuck.  So what?  You’ve got a chapter you didn’t have before.  I mean, you could allow it to get you down, allow yourself to get frustrated and resentful and angry, but when is that not a possibility?

Move forward, press on, take another step on your journey.  even if you fall on your face, hey, you’re a step closer than you were yesterday, and you had to take that step at some point, didn’t you?

Leave a Reply

