NaNoWriMo

It is upon us!  National Novel Writing Month has come again.  Am I participating?  Yes!  Am I going to make the fifty thousand words?  Probably not!  I’ve done it before, more than once, but I’ve also failed more than once, too.  It’s just a question of my focus, and, if I’m honest about it, my focus right now isn’t very good.  I’m in a slump, I think I mentioned that in a recent post.  That certainly isn’t going to help.  I also have a lot going on in writing projects that don’t count towards nanowrimo.

I’ve got a cookbook I’m working on.  It’s a humorous little creation that needs to be tweaked a bit, then edited, then handed off to someone who knows a bit more than I do about cooking, then tweaked again… eventually, though, it’s going to be quite hilarious.  I hope.  I’ve also got book three of the ghoul series that I’m working on, and, I hope, I’ll be able to start promoting book 2 and the print version of book 1.  Soon.  I hope.  God, I really need them to put that stupid book in print.

Anyway, the point is, it’s going to be a rough year for nanowrimo.  But that’s actually a good thing.  The purpose of nanowrimo is to get writers to push themselves, and one way or another I will definitely be pushing.  I just have to pick a project.  I’m thinking about doing a YA story that I’m planning to release under a different name.  My actual name, in fact.

Part of the reason that I have this nom de plume is because I write in several different styles, and it feels like a bad idea to write my adult oriented works and my YA stuff under the same name.

Well, for those of you out there who enjoy writing, Nanowrimo is an exciting experience and I suggest you look into it.  It’s more than just a goal of fifty thousand words in a month, it’s an opportunity to bond with other writers, and participate in a group tradition in a field that is, traditionally, an individual activity.

Leave a Reply

