Percolating

I try to write every day.  I’ve mentioned that before, I’m sure.  I try to make myself sit down in front of the computer and pound out a few hundred words every single day, whether I feel like it or not, and I think that this practice is making me a better writer.  But while it’s important to write as much as I can, I think it’s also important to put off specific projects until I’m ready for them.

I’m working on a project with a friend.  It’s a dystopian cyberpunk piece which,, I feel, has a great deal of potential.  But I’m having trouble working on it. It isn’t that I sit down and can’t think of what comes next, it’s that I don’t think i”m where I need to be for the story.

There are, I believe, pieces still missing.  Something isn’t in place, and if I write it before everything coalesces, the story I produce won’t be the one that I’ve been working on.  It will be… derivative?

I believe in letting the important ideas percolate. I let them sit in the back of my head and float around, bumping into other ideas.  I leave it to grow and connect, until the story is ready for me.

Or maybe I’m just being a lazy bastard and avoiding a project I don’t want to work on right now.

Leave a Reply

