Waxing and Waning

Sometimes, as a writer, the words just flow.  Sometimes you can sit down, start typing, and the hardest thing you have to deal with all day long is trying to keep up with the inspiration.

And sometimes the words don’t flow.

Right now, the words aren’t coming.  I’ve been at this long enough that I don’t panic about it anymore.  I know that there are ebbs and flows to all of this and that in due course I’ll find myself neck deep in stories again.

But right here, right now, I’m a dry well.

And it kind of sucks.  I’ve got responsibilities as a writer.  I’ve got books I’m working on for people and with people.  I’ve got deadlines and whatnot.  Hell I’ve got a blog and I can’t think of a single thing worth saying.

One thing I have learned over the years, after going through more than a couple of dry spells, is that you fight it.  You make yourself put the words down, even if they don’t feel quite right.  You make yourself get through it now, because if you can write through the lows, the highs will last that much longer.

Deep breath, and plow forward, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

