My Really, Really, Ridiculously Long List

So one of the things that’s important, if you’re going to be a writer, is to read.  It’s kind of like the way that if you want to be a chef you need to eat, or if you want to be a painter you need to look, or if you want to be a composer, you need to listen.

Anyhow, I’ve got to admit, I haven’t been reading as much as I should lately.  Part of it is finding writers I enjoy.  I spend so much time analyzing what I read that I have trouble really losing myself in a book the way I used to when I was younger.  Now I just see the faults, and what I would have liked them to change.

But another part of the problem is money.  My god, am I so freaking broke right now.  I have dozens of books that I need to get.  I have nearly a dozen writer friends who have books out that I promised to buy and read as soon as I can.  And I have at least as many books that people recommended to me.  No, not recommended, recommended would be ‘hey, you should try this.’  What do you call it when people are like ‘READ THIS!  You HAVE to read it!’  Foisting?  Is that it?

The long and short of it is, if somehow my book hits the right niche and suddenly becomes wildly successful, I will have to spend my entire first paycheck, and probably the one after that, on books.

On the plus side, I will then have a lot of books to read, and I have to admit, I miss those days when I would lie in bed, glancing at the clock every few minutes and going ‘I don’t have to get up THAT early tomorrow.’

Leave a Reply

