A little game…

A few years back I was at a writer’s conference.  One of the local writers got up on stage and started talking about how awesome our speaker was, great person, etc etc, amazing writer, etc etc.  Finally she introduced the author, ‘so and so smith, author of X,Y, and Z.’

As I listened, it occurred to me that if one were a little bit creative, an author might manage to put together a portfolio to make their introduction all the more entertaining.

My first idea was to write a couple of novellas or short stories that i could entitle, ‘the only book that matters,’ and ‘Other works of genius.’

If I ever do write those stories and publish them, even if they’re the least popular things I ever put out in my life, you can be damned sure that I’m going to insist on being identified by those books when I get introduced.

What about you?  Any ideas on what works would make for a great introduction for you?

Leave a Reply

