A manufactured Rush

So, I got some terrible news today.  It seems that in the three weeks since my book came out, I’ve sold a total of seven copies.

Now, in fairness, most of the people I know who are willing to buy a copy of my book for me are more into print copies of the book, and for the last three weeks no print copies have been available.  That said, seven books in the first three weeks is… pretty bad.

I talked to a friend and fellow author about the problem.  Jason Richter, who wrote Mating Rituals of Migratory Humans.  He suggested that I ‘arrange a rush’ on my book.  Basically I’m supposed to contact all of my friends who are willing and able to buy copies of the book and try to get all of them to purchase a copy on the same day at around the same time.

The theory, as I understand it, is that if you do that your amazon ranking shoots up, which, presumably, means that some amazon algorithm decides that your book is ‘hot’ and they market you a little bit.  Theoretically, you get a few extra sales out of the deal, I think.

Now, honestly, I don’t really get it.  Any of it.  But Richter is a smart fellow, and according to him it can work, so what the hell, I’ll give it a try.

The problem now is that I have to wait until I know for sure my book is actually in print, and then I have to contact everyone I know all at once.  Sadly, I am not the most organized person in the world.  At the moment, for example, my bedroom floor is a bit tricky to navigate as I have a sprawling pile of clean clothes that I really need to hang up, a pile of junk mail from the past couple of months that I need to shred, and a pile of dirty clothes that is slowly encroaching on the clean clothes pile.

Oh, and a giant roll of paper that I bought from the newspaper people so I could make diagrams to help me keep track of crap in my writing.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: writing is a passion, a calling, a lifestyle.  Promoting is a job.

Anyhow, if anyone out there who happens upon this blog is interested in reading a book about an anti-social ghoul who finds himself caught in the middle of a battle between neckbiters and crotchsniffers (that’s vampires and werewolves), please, head to amazon and buy a book.  You’ll make my day.

No, seriously, you’ll make my day.  I’ve got to have a ‘talk’ with my editor and a marketing guy in a couple of days.  It feels like I’ve been called into the principals office.

Leave a Reply

