Rated! Judged!

So, my book got its first rating by somebody I cannot immediately identify.  Of course, we’re online, There’s really no way to be certain that it isn’t a friend or family member, but nothing about the amazon review makes me think it’s somebody I know.  So for the time being, I’m assuming that a stranger bought my book, read my book, and reviewed my book.

And they gave it four stars!

Sure, five stars would’ve been better, but they wrote a review and were pretty complimentary.  I’m stoked!

I’ve said it before, reviews aren’t really the business of the writer.  If I had the discipline I’d ignore them and just continue working on my own crap, but who am I kidding?  First book?  I’ll be watching amazon and goodreads like a hawk watching a rat-hole.  the second something pops up… POW!  I’m all over that.

Man that’s a bad idea… oh well, watcha gonna do?

Four stars!  Somebody read my book and enjoyed it!  BOOM!

First one star review I get I’ll be on here bitching and crying….

When you’re an artist, your art is sort of like your child.  You spend so long trying to turn it into something perfect, and then you send it out into the world and just hope it doesn’t end up in a ditch somewhere.  Or starting world war three.

One thought on “Rated! Judged!”

  1. Four stars is great!! I don’t usually 5 star books unless they are exceptional not just as a book but in my personal emotional involvement, which I do expect from any book upon starting it. Four stars is “I loved it!” Congrats to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

